The History of Mah Jongg

March 24, 2021

Kraks, Bams, & Dots:

What Do These Symbols Really Represent?

NA’AMAT Areas & Regions Present:

The History of Mah Jongg

with Yvonne Wolf

Wednesday, April 28

6 PM CDT / 7 PM EDT / 4 PM PDT

Mah Jongg came a long way from China to the US. Have you ever wondered what the characters (AKA kraks), bamboos (AKA bams), and dots represent?  What’s the difference between Mah Jongg and Mahjong? How did it become known as the Jewish game? Yvonne explains the history, cultural symbols, Chinese expressions, and cultural evolution of the internationally popular Chinese game of Mahjong.

About Yvonne Wolf

Yvonne has given talks at libraries, museums, and community centers. She has worked 10 years as an HR trainer and speaks 3 languages: English, Mandarin Chinese, and Danish.  She has mediated cross-cultural misunderstandings while working in Los Angeles and the Greater Chicago area. She worked as a bilingual assistant in a Japanese global company in Denmark and served as a global language trainer in Japan.  She currently lives in the Chicago area.

The cost to attend is $5 per screen.

For questions, please email Felicia Gross at [email protected].

Copyright @ 2024 NA’AMAT USA

This site was built with love by New Why